Beauty in public spaces

I loved Art Everywhere. It’s a shame it only lasted for a few weeks, but while it was happening there were some amazing works of art on billboards and poster sites instead of the usual adverts. I generally like the idea of making our environment look nicer, for example guerrilla gardening. Yesterday I noticed a small fox stenciled on a wall on Union Street and was almost tempted to take a picture because I liked it so much. Today I saw this tweet from @leithlate about a new painting taking shape on Leith Walk and was inspired to go down and have a look myself:

Isn’t it great when people can express and create in spaces which otherwise would be functional but not very beautiful. I would love it if we could encourage more of these improvements to our environment.

Leave a Reply

